killonurse.blogg.se

How open wd my book 3tb
How open wd my book 3tb












how open wd my book 3tb
  1. #HOW OPEN WD MY BOOK 3TB HOW TO#
  2. #HOW OPEN WD MY BOOK 3TB ARCHIVE#

The next move is a total gamble with a 50/50 chance of recovering the data. In my case, it was 730GB remaining of 2.72TB total usable space. Even with Windows 7 disk manager, the drive shows only as an unused partition equivalent to the size of remaining unused space on the drive. You'll likely get a Windows message (Mac did too) the drive is unformatted, do you want to format? Yikes!! NO, don't format. This is what was keeping the drive from successfully mounting within Windows.īecause the data on the drive is encrypted (regardless of whether or not the user elects to use WD's disk security software), removing the drive and connecting directly to a computer is useless. It's this hardware data encryption that poses the biggest problem.Īs the drive was spinning up and trying to mount, a few measurements revealed the 5 volt supply was dipping to around 3 volt intermittently. The other function is to convert the incoming data stream into some kind of proprietary (hardware) encrypted data which it writes to the drive and subsequently reads and translates back to real world usable data. It takes the 12V and through a switching power supply makes 5V for the drive and internal electronics. The first image is a view of the original I/F board on the right and the new style on the left.

how open wd my book 3tb

But, I'm not so sure of the quality they use in making the interface/power supply board. You may be able to rescue your data or you may lose it all.

#HOW OPEN WD MY BOOK 3TB HOW TO#

I'll leave it to the reader to search how to open the My Book drive and what comes next. Reading the data, well, that was another matter. The physical removal of the drive is easy. I decided to open the My Book and remove the drive and hot wire it to the USB port. Naturally, I worried that kind of torture would ultimately lead to a crash and take all my photo archives along with it. This would go on for nearly 5 minutes before the drive finally would mount to the computer. Upon connecting to the 12V power source, the drive would spin, head positioner would start moving and moving and moving with no mounting of the drive taking place. This is my second disaster involving a WD "My Book".įor a few months, it was taking the poor 4 year old 3TB WD My Book what seemed like an eternity to spin up and get connected with my computer.

#HOW OPEN WD MY BOOK 3TB ARCHIVE#

members archive their camera images to either a Western Digital or Seagate outboard USB type drive.














How open wd my book 3tb